This is a list of DUI laws by State in the United States of America.
It is a severe and criminal offense in the United States to drive a vehicle with Blood Alcohol Content (BAC) of 0.08% or above in all States. This maximum limit prescribed legal alcohol limit for drivers is generally known as the “per se” limit.
44 States, D.C. and Guam in the U.S. have already increased the penalties for such drivers convicted at higher Blood Alcohol Contents (vary by states).
48 States, D.C., the Northern Mariana Islands, and the Virgin Islands in the U.S. have administrative license suspension on the first-time offense.
The penalties of a first-time offense of DUI (driving under the influence) differ by state. We can see that some countries use the term instead of DUI as
- DWI- Driving while intoxicated.
- OUI- Operating under the influence.
Common penalties include jail time, fines, community service, license suspension, and having to install an ignition interlock device (IID) in your vehicle.
If you had a BAC (blood alcohol concentration), the minimum penalties for a first-offense DUI are often increased by a minimum of 0.15% to higher.
All fifty states have, per se; laws are defining; it a crime to drive a vehicle with a blood alcohol content (BAC) level at or more than the prescribed threshold.
DUI Laws by State in the USA
Here are some of the penalties for DUI laws by state for a first DUI listed out by state:
|State||Minimum Jail||Fines & Fees||Minimum License Suspension||Ignition Interlock Device Required|
|Alaska||Min. 72 hours||$1,500||Min. 90 days||Yes|
|Alabama||None||$600 to $2,100||90 Days||No|
|Arkansas||24 hours to 1 year||$150 to $1,000||6 months||Yes|
|Arizona||Min. 24 hours||$250 base fine||90 to 360 days||Yes|
|California||4 days to 6 months||$1,400 to $2,600||30 days to 10 months||Yes, in some counties|
|Connecticut||2 days up to 6 months||$500 to $1,000||1 year||No|
|Colorado||Up to 1 year (DUI), or up to 180 days (DWAI)||Up to $1,000 (DUI), or up to $500 (DWAI)||9 months (DUI), none for DWAI||No|
|Delaware||Max. 6 months||$500 to $1,1500||1 to 2 years||No|
|D.C.||Max 90 days||$300 to $1,100||6 months||No|
|Florida||6 to 9 months||$500 to $2,000||180 days to 1 year||Yes|
|Georgia||24 hours to 1 year||$300 to $1,000||Up to 1 year||No|
|Hawaii||None||$150 to $1,000||90 days||No|
|Idaho||Up to 6 months||Up to $1,000||90 to 180 days||No|
|Illinois||Up to 1 year||Up to $2,500||Min. 1 year||Yes|
|Indiana||60 days to 1 year||$500 to $5,000||Up to 2 years||No|
|Iowa||48 hours up to 1 year||$625 to $1,200||180 days||Yes, if BAC above .10|
|Kansas||48 hour min.||$750 to $1,000||30 days||Yes|
|Kentucky||None||$600 to $2,100||90 days||No|
|Louisiana||2 days to 6 months||$1,000||90 days||Possible|
|Massachusetts||Up to 30 months||$500 to $5,000||1 year||No|
|Maryland||Up to 1 year (DUI); up to 2 months (DWI)||Up to $1,000 (DUI); up to $500 (DWI)||Min 6 months (DUI & DWI)||No|
|Michigan||Up to 93 days||From $100 to $500||Up to 6 months||Possible|
|Mississippi||Up to 48 hours||$250 to $1,000||90 days||No|
|Minnesota||Up to 90 days||$1,000||Up to 90 days||Yes|
|Missouri||Up to 6 months||Up to $500||30 days||Possible|
|Montana||2 days to 6 months||$300 to $1,000||6 months||Possible|
|Nevada||2 days to 6 months||$400 to $1,000||90 days||Possible|
|Nebraska||7 to 60 days||Up to $500||Up to 60 days||No|
|New Hampshire||None||$500 to $1,200||6 months||No|
|New Jersey||Up to 30 days||$250 to $500||3 months to 1 year||Possible|
|New Mexico||Up to 90 days||Up to $500||Up to 1 year||Yes|
|New York||None||$500 to $1,000||6 months||Yes|
|North Carolina||24 hours (for level 5 offender) (however, if 3 aggravated factors are present — Level 1A — minimum of 12 months)||$200 (for level 5 offendor)||60 days to 1 year||No|
|North Dakota||None||$500 to $750||91 to 180 days||No|
|Oklahoma||5 days to 1 year||Up to $1,000||30 days||No|
|Ohio||3 days to 6 months||$250 to $1,000||6 months to 3 years||No|
|Oregon||2 days or 80 hours community services||$1,000 to $6,250||1 year||Yes|
|Pennsylvania||None||$300||No||Yes, if refusal to take chemical test|
|Rhode Island||Up to 1 year||$100 to $500||2 to 18 months||No|
|South Dakota||Up to 1 year||$1,000||30 days to 1 year||No|
|South Carolina||48 hours to 90 days||$400 to $1,000||6 months||No|
|Texas||3 to 180 days||Up to $2,000||90 to 365 days||No|
|Tennessee||48 hours up to 11 months||$350 to $1,500||1 year||Yes|
|Utah||48 hours min.||$700 min.||120 days||No|
|Virginia||Min. 5 days||Min. $250||1 year||Yes (if BAC .15 or above)|
|Vermont||Up to 2 years||Up to $750||90 days||No|
|Washington||24 hours to 1 year||$865.50 to $5,000||90 days to 1 year||Yes|
|West Virginia||Up to 6 months||$100 to $1,000||15 to 45 days||Possible|
|Wisconsin||None||$150 to $300||6 to 9 months||No|
|Wyoming||Up to 6 months||Up to $750||90 days||Yes – if BAC .15 or above|
It is common for some people to experience depression and anxiety after getting a first-time DUI. Being shocked at the initial arrest can create severe anxiety.
In this stage, you have to struggle with some emotions for example guilt, anger, sadness, and shame.
Furthermore, a DUI is a serious offense and the guilty person finds themselves facing severe consequences.
The common but ultimate penalties for driving under the influence (DUI) can include:
Heavy fines and fees.
- A suspended or revoked license.
- Jail time.
- Increased insurance premiums.
- Community service to address.
So, what are the effective steps that worth taking to mitigate the DUI damage? You can follow Life After DUI Tips.